Aside

  A person I …

30 May

A person I know with a sense of what I call fun wrote on Facebook “only 24 days left before the days are going to become shorter”. As if we do not have enough to celebrate at this moment on this day. Sunshine and good weather, and i am going on a country drive with my friend.

Well I do not care I love England in summer and it is one of the reasons I love being in England apart from the other factors like the number 50 bus and the Bullring market.

I  have been lucky in that I have joined up other social entrepreneurs to work together on a Project called Yummie Brummies. It reminded me almost of the early nineties in the time of mergers and acquisitions and highly paid solicitors, except we did ours on trust and good faith.

The result of working together meant that we had an event at Canoon hill Park on Sunday where i had the opportunity to sell bread and do some further market testing.

It was a great day and lot of networking for me. Of course I enjoyed meeting the people and talking, which I seem good at doing.

I learnt some valuable lessons on Sunday.

First,  good bread is like good memories , people will always remember it. In 2010 I sold bread at a event at St Ambrose Church of England in Pershore Road in Birmingham. I did not return in 2011 and was tracked down by some members of the Church who said how they were looking for me to come and sell bread at their church events. Thank you for reminding me to follow through on my contacts.

Secondly, i met my bread hero and or as some people say my competition, Tom Baker from Loaf online. Without Tom and his constant  exposure and for real bread I would not have taken the courage to venture int my project. Tom it was great to be in your awesome company.

Lastly, I still have serious issues around being hyper critical of myself. I almost pulled out of the event because I felt my bread baking skills was not good enough and my bread looks ugly like I do and people will never buy the bread,It was wrong when I saw how the bread sold and shared with someone what I felt they said “well the interest in the bread is different aren’t it”.

That is part of my poor upbringing where I was told never to think too highly of myself and be humble. I can take lesson in being truly humble..

I was also told how funny I was. Me really. Off course if you told me that a year ago I would have dismissed it and say bugger off. Now I do believe I found my voice and I enjoy the fact that I have and that I can use it. I was told that I was seen doing stand up gigs, promoting my bread and so many things.I am still doing stand up comedy and I am working hard at it I am now getting on tow two show a week. I am growing as it is.

I promise that I will share a sound clip of a stand up set I had recorded  where I talk about bread making. I do have a admission to make I do not know how to upload it on to my blog. I am going to keep trying to do it.

I will upload some other gig I did though sorry it is not all about bread but about part of my journey into recovery and into baking bread, the comedy was the catalyst that made me articulate why I needed to break free and start my micro bakery.

Enough said, I have bread in the oven and before i burn the tops as sometimes happen let me just sign off now and get doing some serious work. I will let you know how it , the bread in the oven turned out.

Thank you for listening, reading or doing whatever to pay attention to me right now . Till next time take care.

Albert

Leave a Reply

